Thursday, 12 January 2017


amalgamation day at Tinubu Lagos

1852 January 1: Her Majesty Queen Victoria of England presented to King Akitoye of Lagos, a mounted Silver- Staff, following the signing of the first treaty between Lagos and the British government.

1862 January 22: Lagos was declared a colony, and Mr. Henry Stanhope Freeman was appointed as the first British Governor for Lagos.

1873 January 4:         Jaja became the King of Opobo.

1885 January 30: The Berlin conference in Germany to partition African
countries among European rivals states came to a successful end.

1893 January 18: Abeokuta signed a treaty with British Governor Gilbert Carter and a quasi-independent state was granted to Abeokuta.

1895 January 29: The Royal Niger Company’s headquarter at Atassa was raided by Brass men.

Wives of king Jaja of Opobo

Lord Frederick Lugard who amalgamated us in 1914

1900 January 1: British takes over the administration of the Niger Coast
Protectorate merging it with area South of Idah and calling it Protectorate of Nigeria with Lord Lugard as Governor General. All the areas formally governed by the Royal Niger company was thus administered in three separate areas as follows-
1. The colony and protectorate of Western Nigeria comprising the areas of the present Lagos, Oyo, Osun and Ogun, Ekiti, Ondo States, excluding Egba Division.
2.  The Protectorate of Southern Nigeria which consisted of the present Delta, Edo, Rivers, Imo, Abia, Enugu, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Anambra and Cross River States.
3. The Protectorate of Northern Nigeria which was more or less the same as the present Northern states of Nigeria.
1911 January 18: Latenwa bridge in Abeokuta was opened to the public.

1913 January 13: The Eko Boys’ High School, Lagos founded by the late Rev. W.B. Ebuba, Lagos.


  1. What an amazing piece of information. However please note that Euba is the correct spelling of the founder of EBHS's name.